Tags

, , ,

Today was my first day back at uni in my Masters level teaching course. I was sitting in a maths lecture, and we were using materials to explore teaching fractions concepts. The mature age student sitting behind me was sorting her bits of paper by size and putting them in rows. She turned to her partner and said, “Oh look at me… I’m being autistic!” and then laughed herself silly.

I am no longer offended by such remarks, but I have to wonder what the experience of autistic students will be in her class? I want to tell her that being autistic is so much more than lining things up.

I have written an essay titled A Room with an Autistic View for friends to share with their kids’ teachers to help them understand what it is like to be a student in class. I will be sharing it with my fellow preservice teachers in the next couple of days. Wish me luck…

